Montana Supreme court

Job Description

The Montana Supreme Court is the highest court of the Montana state court system.  It is established and its powers defined by Article VII of the 1972 Montana Constitution. It is primarily an appellate court which reviews civil and criminal decisions of Montana's trial courts of general jurisdiction and certain specialized legislative courts, only having original jurisdiction in a limited number of actions. The court's Chief Justice and six Associate Justices are elected by non-partisan, popular elections.  

Important Dates

The primary for each seat to be filled will occur on June 2, 2020. The general election will occur on November 3, 2020.  General election candidates will be added here following the primary. 

Seat 5

  • Mike Black (Nonpartisan)
  • Laurie McKinnon - Incumbent (Nonpartisan)
  • Mars Scott (Nonpartisan) 

Seat 6

  • Jim Shea (Nonpartisan)