Montana Public Service Commission (3 seats)

Job Description

One of the smallest agencies in Montana state government, the Montana Public Service Commission (PSC) strives to ensure that ratepayers have continued access to utility services that are affordable, reliable, and sustainable for the long-term.   In pursuit of this goal, the PSC regulates the rates and service quality for investor owned electric, natural gas, water, waste-water, and legacy telecommunication companies.  In addition, the PSC regulates intrastate railroads and certain motor carriers hauling regulated commodities.  The PSC oversees natural gas pipeline safety regulations.  Though they differ in form and function, companies in these industries all have one thing in common, they are monopolies with a captive set of customers.  It’s the PSC’s job to balance the interests of ratepayers who are concerned about utility rate increases, with the need to maintain a financially sound utility that is capable of providing reliable service. 

Link to a map showing the 5 districts.  Park County is in District 3.

Important Dates

Montana is holding an election for three of five seats on the public service commission on November 3, 2020.  The primary is scheduled for June 2, 2020.  The filing deadline is March 9, 2020.

District 2

Democratic Candidates

  • Valerie McMurtry

Republican Candidates

  • Tony O'Donnell (Incumbent)
  • Kirk Bushman
  • Daniel Zolnikov

District 3

Democratic Candidates

Republican Candidates

  • James Brown
  • Alan George

Independent Candidates

  • Rob Elwood

District 4

Democratic Candidates

  • Daniel Carlino
  • Monica Tranel

Republican Candidates

  • Champ Edmunds
  • Jennifer Fielder
  • Will Deschamps